2014 Hord Award winner

Congratulations to Tombaugh Elementary School in Las Cruces, New Mexico!

  Learning Forward and Corwin have announced
  the K-1st dual language vertical team from
  Tombaugh Elementary School in Las Cruces,
  New Mexico, as the winner of the 2014 Shirley
  Hord Learning Team Award.

  The award, which honors Shirley Hord's
  research on learning communities, is given
  annually to a team of teachers that
  demonstrates Learning Forward's definition of
  professional learning in action.

The winning team focused their collaborative work developing and implementing a professional learning design model to improve mathematics instruction for English language learners.

The team will be recognized at Learning Forward's 2014 Annual Conference in Nashville. Team members pictured above are (L-R) Laurie Maese, Kathryn Million, Soledad Muniz, Gloria Olivas, Maria Sanders, and Bobbi-Lynn Pacheco.

“It is very easy to recognize the energy, enthusiasm, and commitment to students that the Tombaugh learning team demonstrates,” said Learning Forward Scholar Laureate Shirley Hord. “They are a self-organizing, self-managing collaborative group of educators that studies student data, research, and best practices in order to make decisions about their own professional learning based on the needs of their students.

Watch this team's winning video.

For questions, contact:
Tom Manning
Assoc. Dir. of E-Learning

About Shirley Hord

  Since the
  Shirley Hord
  has focused
  her research
  on the impact of professional learning communities. Her research teams have identified the attributes of effective learning teams and benefits to staff and students of collaborative learning. More recently she has focused on assisting schools and districts in building structures and acquiring strategies for this form of professional learning. Shirley is Learning Forward's scholar laureate.