

NEWS RELEASE For Immediate Release

Contact: Tracy Crow 614-263-0143

tracy.crow@learningforward.org

New Officers and Board Members Lead Learning Forward

DALLAS—JANUARY 27, 2016—John Eyolfson, district science coordinator at Cherry Creek School District (CO), began his term as president of Learning Forward at the conclusion of the association's annual conference in National Harbor, MD, on December 10, 2015.

Eyolfson succeeds Deborah Renee Jackson, special project administrator for Fairfax County Public Schools (VA). Jackson now serves as past president.

Eyolfson joined Learning Forward's Board of Trustees in 2013. In his current position, Eyolfson leads the design of the school system's K-12 science curriculum and implements its high-quality professional learning. He was a recipient of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (1998). Eyolfson has been a science educator for 27 years and a member of Learning Forward since 2001. Eyolfson is a graduate of the Learning Forward Academy Class of 2009. He has presented at numerous annual conferences and was host committee chair of the 2012 summer conference. He is a regular contributor to *JSD*. "Serving the membership of Learning Forward is a great honor," stated Eyolfson, "and I am excited to work with the members, the Learning Forward staff, and the members of the board of trustees to help advance the mission and vision of the organization, as well as advance the implementation of the Standards for Professional Learning."

Scott Laurence is Learning Forward's new president-elect. Laurence is the superintendent of schools for the Carmel Unified School District (CA).

"Our board members live and breathe Learning Forward's mission and vision every day, whether in their day-to-day positions in their organizations or through their service to Learning Forward," said Stephanie Hirsh, executive director of Learning Forward. "I appreciate their leadership throughout the year and their commitment to our continuous improvement," said Hirsh.

Joining the board this year are newly elected board members Steve Cardwell and Leigh Wall. They begin three-year terms of service.

Cardwell is the director of the Transformative Educational Leadership Program at The University of British Columbia. Wall is the superintendent of the Santa Fe Independent School District in Santa Fe, Texas.

About Learning Forward

Learning Forward is the only association focused solely on the most critical lever in improving schools – building the knowledge and skills of educators. Through the Standards for Professional Learning, Learning Forward leads the field in understanding what links professional learning to improved student achievement. We assist classroom, school, and system leaders in solving their toughest problems of practice. To learn more, visit www.learningforward.org.