ESSA Agents for Learning Competition - 2016

Agents for Learning competition 

NCTAF logo Learning Forward logo

Learning Forward and the National Commission on Teaching & America's Future (NCTAF) hosted Agents for Learning competition finalists at the Loews Chicago Hotel, July 21-22, 2016. The 12 competition finalist teams presented their plans for the best use of federal funding for professional learning under the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) to a panel of judges.

Finalist teams included 55 educators representing 12 states. See a full list of the finalist teams here.

Teams had four minutes to present their plans to the judges panel, then received four minutes of feedback from the judges. Competition judges included Stephanie Banchero, Program Director for the Education Program at the Joyce Foundation; Jahana Hayes, 2016 National Teacher of the Year; Chris Minnich, Executive Director of CCSSO; and Rachel Wise, Chair of the Nebraska Board of Education.

Finalists presentations included an educator-informed theory of action around how to leverage professional learning to advance teaching and learning; and specific recommendations for states, districts, and schools to consider as guides to their Consolidated State Plans and/or state and district Title II plans, a requirement of ESSA, and the design of effective professional learning in their systems.

You can view individual team presentations here.



Learning forward and NCTAF wish to thank each of our generous competition sponsors who supported the Agents for Learning competition.